Is Gluten-Free for Everyone?

January 3rd, 2015

Learn why eating gluten-free is recommended for a lot of our patients. In this you-tube video, we talk about what gluten is and how you can transition into a gluten-free diet.

Gluten-free Grains, Flours, and Starches

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Bean flours (garbanzo, fava, romano)
  • Buckwheat
  • Fava beans
  • Flax seed
  • Garbanzo beans (chickpeas)
  • Garfava flour (garbanzo + fava bean)
  • Mesquite flour
  • Millet
  • Montina flour
  • Nut flour and nut meals
  • Oats (uncontaminated with gluten)
  • Pea flour
  • Potato flour or potato starch (limit)
  • Quinoa
  • Rice, all forms (always choose brown)
  • Rice bran
  • Sago
  • Sorghum flour
  • Soy flour (organic)
  • Tapioca (manioc, cassava, yucca) (limit)
  • Teff flour

Gluten-containing Grains, Flours, and Starches

  • Barley
  • Bulgar (bulgur)
  • Cereal binding
  • Chapati flour (atta)
  • Couscous
  • Dinkel
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Fu
  • Gluten, gluten flour
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Malt (malt extract, flavoring, syrup, vinegar)
  • Matzoh meal
  • Oats (most commercial brands of oats, oat
  • bran, oat syrup)
  • Orzo
  • Rye
  • Seitan (“wheat meat”)
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Textured vegetable protein (typically contains)
  • Triticale
  • Wheat (bran, germ, starch)